From Alteeve Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

 AN!Tools :: Filesystems :: RAID

Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks.

This is a collection of storage devices (traditionally platter-based hard drives) used together in one of 6 base "levels" to provide redundancy. RAID level 0 is not a true RAID level, but is often referenced and thus worth noting. It is not, however, redundant.

  • RAID0 - Striping only, NO redundancy (not a true RAID level)
  • RAID1 - Mirroring only.
  • RAID2 - Proprietary RAID level that is rarely used and largely redundant thanks to error-correction on modern storage devices.
  • RAID3 - Parity and Striping, dedicated parity disk, large block sizes.
  • RAID4 - Parity and Striping, dedicated parity disk, small block sizes.
  • RAID5 - Parity and Striping, parity evenly distributed across all member drives.
  • RAID6 - Same as RAID5 but with 2x parity.


Any questions, feedback, advice, complaints or meanderings are welcome.
Alteeve's Niche! Enterprise Support:
Alteeve Support
Community Support
© Alteeve's Niche! Inc. 1997-2024   Anvil! "Intelligent Availability®" Platform
legal stuff: All info is provided "As-Is". Do not use anything here unless you are willing and able to take responsibility for your own actions.